#463

We had a great stream on Tuesday, where I scanned in a comic that I drew and coloured it in over the two hours. I didn’t quite finish at the time, so here it is completed.

I used both Paint Tool SAI for the linework, and used Photoshop for colouring and text. My friend attempted to teach me how to used clipping masks, after she was appalled at how basic my skills were. I’m mostly self taught, so I tend to do things the hard and tedious way.  I really should but some effort into learning the programs, so I can use that extra energy and time on improving my art skills.

I am very enthusiastic at the moment towards improving my digital art, as I would like to sell prints one day. There is a plethora of obstacles between now and then, and the easiest to control is practicing and improving my art. I have been looking at websites like CGSociety for inspiration, where artists submit their high quality digital art. It’s easy to be jealous and feel inadequate when looking at these galleries, but I just remember that I’m striving to be better and am constantly learning. Just because I can’t stand up to the standards of them yet, doesn’t mean I never will, and gives me a goal to aim for.

At least I’m a good drawer.

Leave a Reply

