#441

A few weeks ago, when I bought a bunch of craft supplies online, I ordered some X-PressIt blending card. This is a nice smooth cardstock, that’s designed to work well with Copic markers. I’ve been meaning to buy some for ages, then when I finally received it, it took me a while to plan what I wanted, and when I couldn’t decide, it was left even longer. Finally, yesterday, I decided to just go for it. I cut an A4 piece into quarters, so I could budget my ten pages, and not feel daunted by a whole page, or annoyed if it turned out badly.

The paper was lovely to work on, and felt smoother than regular cardstock. As written on the packet, blending was lovely. I did add coloured pencil over the top of the markers, to add details and get a better variety where my Copic marker collection is lacking, and due to no roughness in the paper (tooth, as it’s often referred to), layering the pencil got a bit difficult and waxy. I could help this by adding some workable fixative before working on it more. She’s rather pale, as I wasn’t willing to take too many risks, and the picture I was loosely referencing was very brightly lit, so I even had to enhance what little shadow there was to make it more colourful.

Considering I have many cards to make, and painting to do, in the next few weeks, I wanted to do some drawing first. Perhaps I’ll get a chance to draw something on some cards. I haven’t planned much for them, although I did buy a 100 pack of gold card today…

One thought on “#441

Leave a Reply

