#435

Earlier this week, it was clarified that I’m not, not allowed to use flames in my crafting, according to my partner (contradicting his earlier comments, but I have his bad memory to thank.) As long as there was no large open flames… Unless I’m cooking…

This led to today finally getting up the courage to use the stove lighter to seal the ends of ribbons, making it easier to create without battling raw edges. I am an adult, and wouldn’t recommend this without age or adults to back you up. I also think a lighter that doesn’t stay on is a bit safer than a candle, which I would only use next to a sink of water.

Disclaimers over, this sealing was so much easier to sew ribbon. Without having to add bulk to counteract the fraying and having clean ends was so much better looking. Previously, I had to seal ends with glue, then wait overnight for them to dry. I still need some practice, as the more delicate satin blackened with the flame. I was able to curl and manipulate some organza ribbon to create petals by burning the edges. This happens with sheer fabrics and tulle as well.

All in all, I got through the crafting session with no burns and house intact, so a good day for me. I have a whole folder on my computer of flowers and bows to try, so I’ll likely make some more in the future. Might need a new lighter, though.

Flame on.

One thought on “#435

Leave a Reply

