#424

More Overwatch fanart. I had my sketchbook out and ready, and a pencil in my hand, and didn’t know what to draw, so I asked my partner what to draw. He immediately came out with “D.VA from Overwatch!” So, I drew her that night, and spent the next day lazily colouring it in. Her suit is normally purple, but my partner always tries to get the green coloured skins for all the characters, so I drew her in a green suit.

As I was drawing, I was at a family gathering, and someone was watching me draw. “Wow, you’re really good at drawing, you could be an artist!” They said. “I am,” I replied, to which they said “so you have exhibitions and sell your art?”

This rather annoyed me, as there is so many different types of artists, and it isn’t something that is defined so easily. I’m not sure I could outline what makes people artists, as it’s often a title chosen by the person when they decide they deserve it. I contribute a lot to my art, and practice everyday, I come on here, and try to teach art and craft online. I occasionally make webcomics and fanart. In my eyes this makes me an artist. Just because I haven’t sold any pieces, or paint canvases for galleries doesn’t take that away. 

I know the person didn’t mean to annoy me, and I shouldn’t let it get to me, as I am firm in my belief that I’m an artist. But I just wanted to share it with you, incase you get a similar comment.

Go forth and Art!

Leave a Reply

