#417

image

Frixion pens by Pilot came out a few years ago, and was marketed as an erasable pen, which was pretty cool, especially for inking drawings, and things. Back then there were only a couple of colours, bit now there are so many types. We stopped using these pens after discovering that once the pen passed through a laminating machine, the ink disappeared, though we weren’t sure why at the time. The other day, I had this video pop up in my YouTube feed, and had to go out and buy another frixion pen, and use it for this great technique. It turns out that it was heat that erased the pen (usually the heat caused by friction- thus the name.) So, following the video, the technique worked perfectly, and it’s nice being able to sketch out in pen, and not worry about it ruining everything, as it basically disappears after heated. There is a slight residue where the lines were, but if you use this to make a clean scan, that won’t matter. I’m not sure how it will work with markers and pencils over it, though. Pen Ink seems to work fine, though, as long as the frixion ink has dried.

Today, I have a YouTube channel spotlight in the form of DoodleDate.

I was resting my hands from drawing in preparation for tonight’s twitch stream, so I was watching a bunch of videos, and I love the idea of this channel. The couple who created the channel, Steph and Adam, are both illustrators, and they get together and have a time where they sit, talk, sometimes go out and eat at cafes and draw together. Luckily for us, they record these sessions, and watching them is lovely. Each one is unique and they often undertake art challenges, such as the three marker challenge, or swapping their pencil cases. I love the idea of a doodle date, and pitched it to my partner, who can draw, but doesn’t do it nearly enough, and he agreed to try it out. Now I can plan a nice indoor picnic, I think. It sounds fun.

Speaking of the stream, I’ve been working on some overlay images, as well as trying to get a cat cam to work. (The cats didn’t go near it all night.)
Starting of next Tuesday at 8pm Australian Central standard time, I will be streaming for 3 hours at twitch.tv/raspberrysheep just remember, Tuesday streams get a bit weird and there is swearing and frivolous activities, so if you’re looking for something nice and family friendly, do not come to that one. I will be making a nice one during the day (when all the weird people aren’t around) probably on a Friday. Hopefully that one will be a little more structured, and have more teaching, while being at an easier time for other countries to watch. I’d love to hear any questions or suggestions for lessons and let me know what you’d like to see on the stream.

Goodnight my sheepy peeps.

Leave a Reply

