#412

image

Today, I watched a chibi drawing tutorial by Yamio. She has the cutest voice, and adorable drawings, so I really like her YouTube channel. This tutorial is really good, especially as it teaches you to create chibi characters, but not as a step by step, but shows way that you can choose what you like and pick and mix to create your own style.
I attempted one, thinking about shapes and ‘beans’, but it seemed a little static, causing the second one to be super dynamic, which produced a nice doll-like figure.
I’m trying to come up with little pictures, so that I can practice inking with a dip pen, as an exercise. I’m drawing them on printer paper, so that I can put it on my diy light table (glass table with a lamp under it,) and easily see through the thin paper.
I’d like to create some colouring pages in this way. I can draw a bunch of separate doodles, and draw them into one piece on the light box. This also means I don’t have to worry about erasing pencil beneath the ink, which is always a gamble.
If you don’t have a light box or glass table, you can use a window, or stuck a battery torch into an upside down plastic box with a smooth base. Just keep an eye on the heat that might build. Previously, I have used a piece of glass between two chairs with a bedside lamp under it.
Arting is often 90% improvising.

Leave a Reply

