#397

image

Rainbow mermaid!!!
Well… I didn’t quite get to the rainbow part, but I’m half way through.
I was inspired to drawing this when I saw an article tutorial for dragon scales. There was one that was probably meant for the large belly scales, that looked a bit like the tips of swords. Another tutorial had mermaids inspired by different types of fish. I decided to put these two ideas together to make this mermaid. While I was drawing, I hadn’t decided on what to do with the hair, and was thinking about it when I realised, hair would be really impractical underwater. This is probably why sea creatures aren’t fluffy. This led me to making a hair inspired fin. As well as her fin like arms, adding to the swimming aspect for the mermaid. I thought she might have arms under the fins, and have them like flaring sleeves.
I’ve always been a fan of mermaids, so I like drawing them regularly. I like this drawing, and I’ve scanned it so I can colour it in on the computer or print it to colour it in with various mediums.

2 thoughts on “#397

Leave a Reply

