#339

image

Another run out of money day at the city craft store.
I bought some lovely red fabric to make a top the other day, but I realised that I looked at the wrong top measurements, so I decided to buy more fabric, making sure I got plenty extra. I chose a nice plain navy cotton broadcloth that could be a bit dressy. I made sure to get matching zips, thread and bias binding. This pattern will be quite a challenge for me, which is partially why I picked simple, cheap fabrics. That way, I can practice a few times before I get some fancier fabrknock haven’t tried a pattern like this before, so I’ll have to double read the instructions.
I also found an artists colouring book. It’s like the whole new adult colouring, but on gorgeous thick paper that will hold watercolour and marker ink greatly.  It’s called ‘Secret Garden’ by Johanna Basford, and is filled with lovely floral designs.
I love the fact that this new colouring trend is getting people into the creative, artistic groove, but I’ve always used colouring books as an exercise for my art. Using the simple child’s images and turning them into properly coloured artworks is fun. You can work on colour theory without having to draw an image first, or even modify the images if you like. The point is that you shouldn’t knock something just because it’s deemed childish. I have a box full of pompoms and making supplies, I use paper mache all the time and I have a load of colouring books. These things can be adapted to an adults level, but are intended to bring out a persons creativity. We learn by playing, which is why kids need to play. The problem is, most people stop playing when they decide they’re too old.
You are never too old to learn, so you are never too old to play.

Leave a Reply

