#323

image

The other day I bought an app. This wouldn’t be usual, unless you knew me, and know I rarely pay for phone apps. In fact, this is the second app I’ve ever bought, the first being a game. I usually deal with ads and taking the long way to earn points or whatever. This app is a drawing app. The trial was fine, good in fact. The thing that sold me was they withheld the smudge tool for the full version. Smudge is my favourite tool of all. Ok, it wasn’t the only selling point. The full Copic branded colour palette and a hundred extra brushes including half tones were tempting. It’s funny though, if it was in the shop, I wouldn’t think twice about paying $6 for an art tool with one use, that I wouldn’t even pick up equal to the amount I’ve open the program already.
The app is called Autodesk sketchbook. Check it out if you’re interested in digital art and have a smart phone or tablet.

It has given me a new perspective on digital vs physical, and let me know how much practice I very clearly need at digital painting. I’ve been drawing a lot more in the past week, being able to draw when I don’t have time or space to get out a pen and paper. I can draw upside down in bed at night, or when I have two minutes free, waiting for something on my computer or the microwave. I guess it makes it more convenient for me to draw, so I can do it more often, hopefully improving my skills faster.

In other news, I signed up to ArtSnacks. It’s a monthly art supply subscription, where you get 4-5 artist quality art supplies sent to your door. I’m not sure how long it’ll take to get delivered from the US, but I’ll tell you guys all about it when I get it next month. Make sure you sign up before the 24th to get the next months box. I missed out on this month because of that, so just keep that in mind. They deliver internationally, with free shipping in the US. Look up ArtSnacks, and check out what creative people do with their packs. Every month, there is a challenge to create something with only what is in the box. I’m very excited, and can’t wait to see what will be in it, as it’s a surprise each month.

Leave a Reply

