Day #115

image

Made a stencil today for embellishment designs. I took a plain piece of copy paper and laminated it. Then I drew designs and cut them out with an exacto knife. This gave me the positive and negative images, which are both easy to use. If you wanted you could print or draw designs before laminating. I’ve always found just using card for stencils makes the edges messy after not too long. I think this would be a perfect technique for my miniature bear and other small patterns to transfer to fabric, all laid out efficiently. For some reason, recently stencils have become quite expensive, so if making your own is an option, I’d recommend it.
I wonder if this would work with some other stenciling techniques. It may be harder to clean, unless you use a piece of plastic instead of paper in laminating. I used hot laminating. I’m not sure what the difference is but mine stuck to the paper when cut, just in case you were wondering.

Leave a Reply

